MINUTE MOVIE CUP 1990

Five years ago the Swedish Federation found out that it would be great to have a special event to increase the number of participants during their annual general meetings. The idea created was a competition of movies with a maximum running time of one minute. And why not let the audience take part in the judging? The Minute Movie Cup was born.

During the preparation of this UNICA Festival, we thought it would be interesting to broaden this idea. So we created the International Minute Movie Cup. And it sure was broadened. Tonight when you are watching the world premiere you will see several entries from every continent.

Each country may participate with two entries only. Many nations have arranged their own competitions to choose the movies that will represent their country. This has been done in for example Australia, Finland, Austria and Malta.

In fact only two rules exist in the Minute Movie Cup:

- 1) The length of each entry may not exceed 60 seconds (incl. titles and credits)
- 2) The entry may not be recognised as a commercial for any existing company or trade mark.

Next year only the nations with at least one entry among the 16 highest ranking movies will be allowed to particapate with two entries.

JUDGING

A jury of seven persons will grade each movie in two ways. They will use a ten point scale for the artistic impression and a fivE point scale for the technical impression.

The 16 entries with the highest scores will go to the final rounds. The projection order is decided by drawing.

Eighth final

The remaining 16 films will be shown in eight groups of two entries each. The audience will vote for one in each pair to proceed to the next stage.

Quarter-final

Now 8 movies remain which will be shown again, but in four new groups of two entries with the same voting procedure as before.

Semifinal and final

4 movies remain. The jury of seven persons who made the first selection take over the voting again, but in the same way as the audience did. And finally the time has come for the jury to select the winner of the 1st International Minute Movie Cup.